12 Christmas YA Books That Give Hallmark Movie Vibes

The holiday season is upon us, and this is a safe space for folks who have all of the holiday spirit and can’t watch all those Hallmark movies fast enough. I, too, especially love this time of the year. My Christmas playlist has been on repeat for weeks, and I already put up my Christmas trees. That’s right, trees! I told y’all I love this time of year! Despite my love of Christmas, I don’t often find myself reading books or watching movies associated with the holidays, but thanks to Book Riot, I’ve found plenty of Christmas books for adults and kids as well as a few holiday YA books. Today, we have more Christmas YA books that bring the romance and remind readers of their favorite Hallmark movies.

Despite more books being published during the past few years, Christmas YA books continue to have a diversity problem. Not only are most of the books listed below written by white authors, there are essentially no stories featuring LGBTQ+ teens. We’ve said it before, and we’ll keep saying it until publishing changes: Give the readers what we want! We want more holiday YA books from authors of color, and we want more holiday romcoms where the teens falling in love aren’t straight or cisgender.

#AllIWantforChristmas Book Cover

#AllIWantforChristmas: A Sweet YA Christmas Romance by Yesenia Vargas

Christmas Eve is right around the corner, but enjoying the perfect Christmas is looking more impossible than ever for these five friends. Ella’s Prince Charming is caught in a snowstorm. Lena is just over the holidays in general. Harper needs another $100 for a family in need. Tori is more concerned with balloon colors than her boyfriend, and Rey just feels forever alone. Will their first Christmas together as friends be a flop?

Carols and Chaos Book Cover

Carols and Chaos by Cindy Anstey

For fans of Jane Austen, Downton Abbey, and of course, Hallmark movies comes this companion novel to Suitors and Sabotage set during the Yuletide season of 1817.

Lady’s maid Kate Darby has her hands full between performing her household duties at the Shackleford Park country estate and caring for her ailing mother. Matt Harlow is also busy acting as valet for the Steeple brothers, two of the estate’s holiday guests. Falling in love would be a disaster for both of them, but resisting their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when Kate and Matt unwittingly become swept up in a devious counterfeiting scheme.

Decked with Holly Book Cover

Decked with Holly by Marni Bates

A Christmas cruise with her two cousins is not Holly’s idea of a good time. The trip doesn’t get better when she gets seasick and then pepper-sprayed by a cute guy named Nick who is actually Dominic Wyatt, a drummer from one of the hottest boy bands. Soon, Holly’s face is plastered all over the internet, and rumors are flying. The band can’t risk destroying their family-friendly image, so Dominic convinces Holly to be his fake girlfriend for the next two weeks.

Ex-Mas: A Love/Hate Story Book Cover

Ex-mas: A Love/Hate Story by Kate Brian

Lila Beckwith is ready to throw an epic holiday party while her parents are out of town. Lila’s big plans are soon spoiled when her Christmas-obsessed little brother Cooper takes off with his best friend Tyler to save Santa. Lila has to bring Cooper back home safely before her parents return on Christmas Eve, but the only person who can help is Tyler’s older brother Beau, who also happens to be Lila’s ex-boyfriend. It may take more than a Christmas miracle for Lila and Beau to overcome their differences and find their brothers.

French Kissmas Book Cover

French Kissmas by Cathy Hapka

Christmas in Paris is like a homecoming for Nicole Larson. A year ago, Nic studied abroad in Paris and is now back with her friend Annike to spend the holiday season in the City of Light. Almost instantly, Nic is once again rekindling her romance with Parisian hottie Luc, but what is the point of reigniting something that will only last for a few weeks? Instead, Nic prefers spending her time with new friend Mike…until it becomes clear Mike is also interested in being more than just friends.

Let It Snow Book Cover

Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Comprised of three separate but intertwined stories, Let It Snow follows three Gracetown teenagers during a huge snow storm on Christmas Eve. The Jubilee Express by Maureen Johnson follows Jubilee Dougal who is forced to spend Christmas Eve with her grandparents instead of her boyfriend Noah. A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle by John Green begins with Tobin and his friends, the Duke and JP, being lured to the local Waffle House by their friend Keun. In The Patron Saint of Pigs by Lauren Myracle, Addie deals with a recent breakup.

After reading Let It Snow, stream the Netflix adaptation!

My New Crush Gave to Me Book Cover

My New Crush Gave to Me by Shani Petroff

The only thing Charlie Donovan wants for Christmas is Teo Ortiz. He barely knows she exists, but Charlie is determined to be Teo’s date to the Christmas Ball. All Charlie has to do is rig the school paper’s Secret Santa and win Teo’s heart with the perfect gift. To succeed, Charlie needs the help of J.D. Ortiz, Teo’s cousin. He is the most annoying person Charlie’s ever met, but J.D. is willing to give Charlie insight into what Teo wants. Yet, as Charlie spends more time with J.D., she begins to wonder if she knows what (or who) she really wants for Christmas after all.

Recommended for You Book Cover

Recommended for You by Laura Silverman

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this YA holiday romcom about rival teen booksellers. Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at her favorite local bookstore Once Upon. When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the employee who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to make enough money to fix her car. The only person standing in her way is the store’s new hire Jake Kaplan. Jake doesn’t even read, but his sales soon begin to rival Shoshanna’s. Jake may be handsome, single, and Jewish, which is hard to find in Atlanta, but to Shoshanna, Jake is the enemy. She is ready to take him down, but the competition seems to bring them closer. 

Secret Santa Book Cover

Secret Santa by Sabrina James

Hopeless romantic Noelle just knows her Secret Santa gift is from her crush Charlie. Froggy the super geek likes the super popular Celia and plans to use being her Secret Santa to reveal his feelings, but Celia has a crush on resident bad boy Jake. Celia thinks her presents are from him. Lily just wants to give Connor a great gift because she loves Christmas, but her gifts are making Connor’s girlfriend jealous. All will be revealed at the Winter Dance, and there’s more than one surprise waiting under the mistletoe.

Snow in Love Book Cover

Snow in Love by Melissa de la Cruz, Nic Stone, Aimee Friedman, and Kasie West

What’s better than one cozy holiday story? Four stories written by some of the bestselling YA authors. Kasie West shares a snowy road trip taking an unexpected detour when secrets (and crushes) are revealed. From Aimee Friedman comes a story about a young Jewish woman who finds love while working as a department store elf. Melissa de la Cruz gives Christmas Eve a plot twist when a high school couple exchanges presents. Nic Stone’s story is about a scavenger hunt amid holiday crowds at the airport. 

Snowed In Book Cover

Snowed In by Rachel Hawthorne

If you’re looking for Christmas YA books that provide cozy winter vibes without all the Christmas, then Snowed In is the must-read book for you. 

At 17 years old, Ashleigh is about to experience a lot of things for the first time. The first thing is snow, because she and her mom are moving from sunny Texas to icy Michigan. Living on the completely snowbound and tiny Mackinac Island means experiencing small-town life for the first time. The scariest new experience of them all is boys. Of course, there were boys in Texas, but Ashleigh has never met a boy as cute or irresistible as Josh Wynter. 

Together at Midnight Book Cover

Together at Midnight by Jennifer Castle

Kendall, who just returned home from a life-altering semester abroad in Europe, and Max, who is going through a gap year, witness a tragic accident during the holiday season. Racked with guilt from the incident, the two decide to perform random acts of kindness for strangers around New York City. Max and Kendall can’t deny their growing bond as the challenge brings them closer together. As the clock counts down on New Year’s Eve, will their other romantic entanglements keep them apart or will Kendall and Max be together at midnight?


Still need more Christmas YA books? Sign up for Book Riot’s Tailored Book Recommendations! With TBR, readers get paired with a bibliologist who will provide personalized reading recommendations, based on whatever your reading interests are.

Looking for more books to put you in the holiday spirits? Check out:

Holiday deals are here! Save 30% or more on mugs, wall art, and more at Society6!