The Winners of the 2017 Hugo Awards are Here!

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Beth O'Brien

Staff Writer

Beth is an east coast Canadian, born and raised in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She is (unsurprisingly) obsessed with books and is a public library assistant and book blogger. When she’s not convincing all her friends to be friends with each other, she’s trying to convince them to read YA. She likes poetry and coffee and the ocean, but her true love is her cat Edith.

On Friday, August 11th, the 2017 Hugo Awards were presented in Helsinki, Finland at the 75th Worlds Science Fiction Convention, also known as Worldcon.

This year, the Hugo Awards made a change in the way that the nominees were voted for. These changes help ensure nominations are fair, especially in light of past efforts to keep the awards from embracing diversity. For the past several years, rightwing groups like the “Sad Puppies” have been trying to flood nominations with candidates of their choosing. They’ve been trying to keep science fiction as white and male as possible. Thankfully, they’re not winning.

This year, like last year, predominately female creatives take home these prestigious awards. And again, the amazing N.K. Jemisin wins for best novel. In 2016 she became the first black person to win this award. And this year, she becomes the first person in 25 years to win the award two years in a row.

Without further ado, check out this year’s winners!

Best Novel

The Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin (Orbit Books)

Best Novella

Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire ( publishing)

Best Novelette

“The Tomato Thief,” by Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine, January 2016)

Best Short Story

“Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, Saga Press)

Best Related Work

Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, by Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)

Best Graphic Story

Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

Arrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve (21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes,” written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough (SyFy)

Best Editor – Short Form

Ellen Datlow

Best Editor – Long Form

Liz Gorinsky

Best Professional Artist

Julie Dillon

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, and podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine

Lady Business, edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan

Best Fancast

Tea and Jeopardy, presented by Emma Newman with Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer

Abigail Nussbaum

Best Fan Artist

Elizabeth Leggett

Best Series

The Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Ada Palmer (1st year of eligibility)