Episode 195

Hat Pins Are Involved

Amanda and Jenn discuss divorce reads, Latinx fiction, writing advice, and more in this week’s episode of Get Booked.

This episode is sponsored by Book Riot InsidersLibro.fm, and Crown of Coral and Pearl by Mara Rutherford.

Subscribe to the podcast via RSS, Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or Stitcher.

Feedback

Bad Neighbor by Molly O’Keefe (rec’d by Diana)

Lilah Pace’s duology Asking for It/Begging for It (rec’d by Diana)

Cath Staincliffe (rec’d by Stephanie)

Questions

1. Hey guys!
I’ve recently been inspired to write my own novel and have started envisioning my story, characters and setting. However, as I’ve gotten started I’ve realized I have no idea how to write a book at all let alone a book that people might actually want to read. I’m looking for a book on how to write books, specifically how to design compelling characters, write dialogue, design settings, inspire emotion and just the basics of writing that every writer needs to know. I’ve read Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott and loved it. Im looking for other books to help guide my writing process. If it helps at all I’m hoping to write a character-driven coming of age novel. Thanks so much and I look forward to your suggestions!
– E. W.

2. Hello, ladies!

I was wondering if you had any recommendations for a lesbian regency romance?

I have read a few with male romance, and a ton with hetero romance, and I love these but haven’t heard of any featuring a lesbian romance…

I have read Sarah Waters and some other lesbian romance set in Victorian or early 20th century, but really hoping for a regency romp in the vein of Tessa Dare or Sarah MacLean, or Courtney Milan.

Thank you both!

-Sarah

3. Hey there!
I wanted to get into more books about true crime! It creeps me out but I like reading about it, it’s like watching shows about it, I can’t get enough! Could you guys recommend me some true crime books that’ll really be sending chills down my spine?

-Tamika

4. Hey bookish people!

My fiancé and I are taking a little bit of an unconventional honeymoon in October to Vancouver, Canada. I’m looking for recommendations for books that take place in that area. I love pretty much every genre except horror and romance, and I particularly enjoy stories (both fiction and nonfiction) that emphasize culture and food. Bonus points if it’s a cozy read that will go well with the gloomy October weather!

Thanks ladies!

-Morgan

5. Hi Folks,

I am starting the process of divorcing my husband and I am looking for support and an example from books as I’m struggling to find those things in real life. I am not in an abusive situation, but I’ve finally realized that I deserve a partner, not a dependent. This realization doesn’t make the process easier. Especially because I don’t have any personal experience with divorce. No one among my family or close friends has gone through divorce. Not that I’m complaining, but I don’t have a personal pattern or example to see that one can have a fulfilling life afterwards.

I’m looking for examples of women or non-binary folks (just no dudes please) who have made it through divorce and come out the other side happy and successful (with or without a new partner). I’m open to nonfiction or fiction.

-S

6. I’m looking at a job in Richmond, VA, and I’m a little bit apprehensive about leaving the midwest. I would love to read anything set in Virginia (but not DC) that would give me a sense of the place and its history, though I’m not looking for a Civil War history specifically. Readalikes from other parts of the country that I’ve enjoyed/appreciated include Kristin Hannah’s The Great Alone; J.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy; Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko; and Barbara Kingsolver’s Prodigal Summer (in case that might have been a recommendation!). I don’t have a preference for fiction vs nonfiction, and I read most genres, but am particularly loving multigenerational family stories like Pachinko. Bonus points for LGBT characters.

-Stephanie

7. Hi ladies, I adore the podcast!
I’m a first generation Latina American, and in the wake of the El Paso shooting (and all the hatred surrounding Mexicans and Hispanic people as a whole) I’ve found myself at something of a loss. Reading is a place I inevitably turn to, and I was hoping you two ladies could recommend me some fiction about Latinx characters. It’s something I’ve been doing all summer actually, trying to seek out Latinx authors, and I know you two will have great recommendations. I read pretty much any genre, though my favorite is fantasy. Some books I love and have read this summer are Water For Chocolate, The House on Mango Street, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, and a bunch of Gabriel García Márquez. I also read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, which I loved, but even though it was a 5 star rating for me, I do feel you can tell it isn’t an own voices book, and right now I really need that.
I’m also Cuban, so if you know any good books about Cubans that would be a major bonus, but not necessary.

-Anon

Books

On Writing by Stephen King

Steering the Craft by Ursula K. Le Guin

A Little Light Mischief by Cat Sebastian

Mrs. Martin’s Incomparable Adventure by Courtney Milan

The Fact of a Body by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich (TW: violence against children)

American Predator by Maureen Callahan (tw: home invasion)

The Jade Peony by Wayson Choy

Better Living Through Plastic Explosives by Zsuzsi Gartner

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Tiny Beautiful Things

Blue Plate Special by Kate Christensen (tw: domestic violence & child abuse, pet death, disordered eating & drinking)

Shine Shine Shine by Lydia Netzer

Animal Vegetable Miracle

The Wettest County in the World by Matt Bondurant

Chilling Effect by Valerie Valdes (out 9/17)

We Set The Dark On Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia