#Science Fiction/Fantasy

Space! Dragons! Space dragons (that’s a thing)! Welcome to the sci-fi and fantasy corner of Book Riot, where we discuss the best fantasy book series (and best fantasy books that standalone–yes, those do exist), YA sci-fi, science fiction books for kids, cozy sci-fi (also a thing!), and more. Grab your sword and hop in the spaceship: let’s get reading.

Cosmic Greatness: 21 of the Best Award-Winning Sci-Fi Books

Hugo, Nebula, and so much more. Each one of these books is one of the best award-winning sci-fi books and well worth your reading time, like Ancient, Ancient: Short Fiction by Kiini Ibura Salaam.

Grumpy / Sunshine Duo Books for Fans of Wednesday and Enid

If you couldn't get enough of Wednesday and Enid in Netflix's WEDNESDAY, you're going to love these grumpy / sunshine duo books.

10 Little Red Riding Hood Retellings For All Ages

Read your way into these 10 retellings and stories inspired by LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD, including picture books like Lon Po Po, adult fiction, and more.

An Absolutely Serious Guide to Fantasy Transportation

Here are some of the worst and best ways to get around our favorite fantasy worlds, from cannonball bubbles to flying castles.

Words of Power: 8 Fantasy Books With Word-Based or Book-Based Magic Systems

Books (and words) are magic, but we knew that. The word and book-based magic systems in these stories only further prove our point.

Why are Magic Users Often Oppressed in Fantasy Settings?

The trope is common and effective, showing up time and again in many fantasy settings. But why are magic users oppressed in fantasy settings?

9 Classic Types of Sci-fi Plots

Take a look at 9 of the classic types of science fiction plots, including dystopia, space travel, alien invaders, and more.

8 Amazing Works of SFF in Translation You Need To Read

There are so many incredible SFF books being written around the world. Here are some of the best SFF in translation books to pick up!

Roll Up, Roll Up: How To Create An Awesome D&D Character

Want to play Dungeons & Dragons, but struggling to create the perfect character? Find approaches, resources, and other D&D character ideas!

42 of the Best Fantasy Novels From the Last 10 Years

Here are 42 of the best fantasy novels of the last 10 years, which include everything from witches to dragons, goblins to(d)jinn, like The Unbroken by C.L. Clark.