The Winners of the Shirley Jackson Awards Have Been Announced

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Erika Harlitz-Kern

Staff Writer

Erika Harlitz-Kern holds a doctorate from a Swedish university and can't get enough of history, books, and music. Her earliest memories involve a comic book and a Dutch troubadour. She has travelled South Asia on a shoestring, although nowadays she spends most of her vacations in the Mississippi Delta. Lives with her husband in South Florida, because sooner or later they would've ended up there anyway. Blog: The Boomerang Twitter: EH_Kern

The winners of the 2017 Shirley Jackson Awards have been announced!

The Shirley Jackson Awards are literary awards celebrating the legacy of author Shirley Jackson (1916–1965) and are handed out at Readercon each year. The Shirley Jackson Awards are awarded in recognition of “outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic” during the previous year. The winners are appointed by a jury of editors, writers, critics, and academics.

Hye-young-Pyun The Hole | 2017 Shirley Jackson Awards | Book RiotThe 2017 Shirley Jackson Award for best novel went to The Hole by Hye-young Pyun (Arcade Publishing) in translation by Sora Kim-Russell. Meanwhile, the award for best novella ended in a tie between Samantha Schweblin’s Fever Dream (Riverhead Books) in translation by Megan McDowell, and Lindsey Drager’s The Lost Daughter Collective (Dzanc Books).

For the complete list of the recipients of the 2017 Shirley Jackson Awards, please check out File

For more information about the awards themselves, please check out The Shirley Jackson Awards website, and check out all of our Shirley Jackson discussions.