• Episode 73 There is No “Should” in Reading
0:00 0:00

Dear Book Nerd

  • Episode 72

    Preferring People Over Books

    My special guest co-host this week is the wonderful Jade Chang. Jade and I discuss topics such as preferring books over people, reading speed, where to find new sci-fi books, and much more.

  • Episode 71

    Antiquarian Books and More!

    Welcome to the Dear Book Nerd podcast, a bi-weekly show that answers your questions about life, love, and literature! My ...

  • Episode 70

    Reading Accountability

    Amanda and I discuss reading taste, avoiding distractions when trying to read, what it really means to be a book snob, and decorating tips if you own many books.

  • Episode 69

    Bookstore Wishes, Bookseller Dreams

    My guest this week is the wonderful and amazing Cristin Stickles. We talk about topics such as how to approach working in a bookstore, bookish events in NYC, and much more.

  • Episode 68

    First Time For Everything

    My special guest co-host this week is Guy LeCharles Gonzalez. We talk about book blogging, how to prepare for your first public reading, and much more.

  • Episode 67

    Pretending to be a Book Nerd?

    My guest co-host this week is the talented and thoughtful Jeff Zentner. We discuss reading guilt, read-a-likes for "Veronica Mars," and much more.

  • Episode 66

    Improve Your Reading Life

    How to deal with reading-induced headaches, how to train yourself to love audiobooks, and how to read for pleasure, not just comprehension.

  • Episode 65

    Book Clubs, Classics, and More

    My special guest co-host this week is the sparkling Trisha Leigh. We discuss which classics are "must read," how to say no to forming a book club, special book club picks, and much more.

  • Episode 64

    Getting Back on the Bookish Track

    My guest co-host this week is the great Andrew Shaffer. We discuss how a shoplifting charge might impact your writing career, what library school actually entails and much more.

  • Episode 62

    More Bookish Problems

    My special guest co-host this week is Clay McLeod Chapman. We respond to three listener-submitted questions and discuss topics such as how to deal with e-galleys you are not enjoying, what to do when you relate to a character (and dislike yourself for it), and how to relate to your friends and loved ones if they don't enjoy reading.

  • Episode 61

    Librarians Talking Libraries

    My special guest co-host this week is librarian extraordinaire Stephanie Anderson. We discuss two listener-submitted questions relating to libraries and touch on topics such as frustrating library job searches and the complicated issue of library e-books.

  • Episode 60

    Strong Female Characters

    Welcome to the Dear Book Nerd podcast, a bi-weekly show that answers YOUR questions about life, love, and literature! My ...

  • Episode 59

    The Book Lover’s Dilemma

    My special guest host this week is the wonderful Becky Albertalli. We discuss issues such as how to handle your personal library, how to not be influenced by what others are reading, and what ONE book you think everyone "should" read.

  • Episode 58

    Readers’ Advisory Rules

    My special guest co-host this week is the delightful Dhonielle Clayton. We discuss three listener-submitted questions and cover topics such as how to best serve your library patrons if you don't share a taste in books, how long you should keep a book a friend lent you, and great places to read in Washington, DC.