Episode 188

Being Terrified Is My Jam

Jenn and Kelly discuss camping reads, transhumanist SF, healthy cookbooks, and more in this week’s episode of Get Booked.

This episode is sponsored by Libro.fm, Green Chef, and The Van Apfel Girls Are Gone by Felicity McLean.

Subscribe to the podcast via RSS, Apple Podcasts, Spotify, or Stitcher.

Questions

1. Hello Ladies,

I have been an avid listener and a growing book devour-er since starting to listen to all sorts of awesome bookish podcasts such as yourselves.

This past weekend I DEVOURED Kitchen Counter Cooking School, am anxiously awaiting Garlic and Sapphires and since then have fallen down the proverbial rabbit hole of food, diet and health.

I have recently found out that I am both Gluten and Lactose Intolerant and after watching Rotten and Veducated online I now want to go Vegan – OMG have you watched these?!?

I have downloaded, but have yet to start reading The Skeptical Vegan, but are there any other books that you (or Miss Liberty) can recommend that would help me on my merry way?

Hungry for Advice,
-Sonia

AND

Hello, I love your podcast. Thank you for doing it! I am wanting to eat healthier. I am interested in cookbooks that focus on healthy meals but on a budget. I am not opposed to cookbooks that feature vegetarian or vegan meals but don’t want something that focuses on “fad diets”. Thank you!
-Maggie

2. Hello –

I’m a public librarian serving our local middle school. I have a 7th grade teacher looking for read-a-likes to S.E. Hinton’s THE OUTSIDERS. They do not want other S.E. Hinton titles, yet still want titles that are age-appropriate for a 7th grade public school. The titles I find tend to be more appropriate for high school, and not middle grade (for example, David Arnold’s KIDS OF APPETITE, which is not an option for classroom use due to language).

Any thoughts or assistance appreciated.

Thank you
-David

3. Amanda & Jenn –
I love your show and have found many great recs for my TBR and titles for my classroom library. I’m a ninth grade English teacher and my students do independent reading throughout the year. It is amazing to see their diverse interests, but one common love by many this past year has been The Martian by Andy Weir. I never know what to suggest to them next after this book and many times they have book hangovers after this read. Help me help them find a read alike for this novel!
Thank you.
-Sarah

4. Hi ladies! I’ve asked questions in the show before and was super happy with the recs (especially Her Body and Other Parties, amazing!) so thank you so much and also I’m back for more. I’ve been in a real non fiction kick lately and would love some recommendations for non fiction, especially historical, that reads like a novel/is very readable. In addition to that I would really prefer to read something in translation or about other countries since I’m not american or particularly interested in US history. Bonus points for greek, french, or south american history/historical figures, but not essential.
-Celina

5. Hi! Love your podcast! I’m a PhD student so I spend all my life reading heavy academic texts, and it means my pleasure reading is suffering, I’m reading lots of chick lit because it’s so predictable it doesn’t matter that I’m exhausted!
I’m after some recommendations of things that are easy to read but a bit more exciting. When I do have the energy I love thriller/crime books and YA (especially queer fiction). Not so keen on fantasy/sci fi. Fave authors are probably Becky Abertalli and Rachel Abbott
-Caroline

6. I’m looking for book recommendations for an upcoming camping trip. It will be just me and my husband relaxing in the woods, hiking etc. Last year I read Undaunted Courage and really loved reading about their journey while I had a much more modern adventure. Doesn’t necessarily have to be nonfiction but does have to be paperback (easy to carry). Thanks!
-Reid

7. Hello! I’ve been growing more interested in reading transhuman science fiction. Specifically books that feature mind hacking, mind uploading, or resleeving into artificial bodies. Some similar books I’ve read are Cory Doctorow’s Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom, and Alissa Nutting’s Made for Love.

It would be a bonus if the recommendations included either romance or horror, and double bonus if they feature LBGTQ characters and issues!
-Kelly

Books Discussed

Frugal Vegan by Katie Koteen and Kate Kasbee

The Love & Lemons Cookbook by Jeanine Donofrio

Monster by Walter Dean Myers

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Packing for Mars by Mary Roach

The Lost City of Z by David Grann

The Black Count by Tom Reiss

The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali by Sabina Khan

A Line in the Dark by Malinda Lo

Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer

The River of Doubt by Candice Millard

Feed by MT Anderson

Upgraded, edited by Neil Clarke

Book Riot has Avada Kedavra-ed the comments section, so please come chat with us on Twitter or Instagram!