Riot Headline 10 Exciting Books to Read this Summer

Samanta Schweblin’s FEVER DREAM Wins the 2018 Tournament of Books

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Rebecca Hussey


Rebecca holds a PhD in English and is a professor at Norwalk Community College in Connecticut. She teaches courses in composition, literature, and the arts. When she’s not reading or grading papers, she’s hanging out with her husband and son and/or riding her bike and/or buying books. She can't get enough of reading and writing about books, so she writes the bookish newsletter "Reading Indie," focusing on small press books and translations. Newsletter: Reading Indie Twitter: @ofbooksandbikes

Fever Dream coverIn what can fairly be called an upset, Samanta Schweblin’s novel Fever Dream has won the 2018 Tournament of Books. It defeated the popular, multi-award-winning Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders, in a 10-7 vote. Fever Dream first beat Lincoln in the Bardo in the opening round and then went on to win against Elif Batuman’s The Idiot, Eugene Lim’s Dear Cyborg, and Mohsin Hamid’s Exit West on its way to defeating Lincoln in the Bardo once again.

Samanta Schweblin was born in Buenos Aires, and is the author of four books. Fever Dream was originally published in 2014 and was nominated for the International Man Booker Prize in 2017. It was translated into English in 2017 by Megan McDowell. Described as a ghost story and a horror novel, Fever Dream begins with a woman and a boy talking in a hospital and from there takes the reader on a strange, ghostly journey.

Fever Dream won against a strong line-up: in addition to the Saunders novel, which won the 2017 Booker Prize, contenders included novels by Jennifer Egan, Jesmyn Ward, Percival Everett, and Lidia Yuknavitch. The Tournament of Books has run every March since 2005. It pits 16-18 novels against each other, with judges presiding over each round and audience commentary incorporated into each decision.

Fever Dream now takes its place among esteemed winners from previous years, including Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, Junot Diaz’s The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Toni Morrison’s A Mercy, and Colson Whitehead’s Underground Railroad.

Click here for more on the Tournament of Books.