Riot Headline 10 Exciting Books to Read this Summer

Tika Viteri

Tika writes from her home office in Pittsburgh, PA, accompanied by 3 grey cats and many, many plants. When not plonking away on a keyboard, she can be found painting, knitting, gardening, and casting the occasional spell or two -- all usually accompanied by a glass of wine.

Not This Again: The Worst Tropes In Mysteries And Thrillers

There are plenty of ways to frame a mystery or thriller that don't involve these tired tropes. Enough, already.

Literary Fiction? … Needs More Dragons

What if literary fiction had a few more dragons?

8 Fantasy Duologies For When You’re Feeling Like A Little More Or Less

Sprawling fantasy series can be overwhelming. Enter the fantasy duology! Here are 8 you should pick up now.

Romantic Comedy: Please Go To Therapy

I find many of the most popular plot devices/tropes in romcoms to be uncomfortable at best and harmful in general. Let's explore, shall we?

The Role of Wills and Testaments in Mystery Novels

In leaving a will, a person is guaranteed the last word—at least regarding their own possessions. And that makes for a great mystery.

Murderbot Merch To Show Off Your Murderbot Diaries Love

If you love The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells, show off your fandom with these Murderbot shirts, mugs, phone cases, and more!

What Is The Difference Between Mystery, Suspense, and Thriller Novels?

What's makes a thriller different from a mystery? And how about suspense? Here's a breakdown of how they differ and how they're the same.

10 Comics and Books like The Sandman Series

Looking for more comics or books like The Sandman series from Neil Gaiman? We've got you covered with our top picks!

The Poetic Principle: Edgar Allan Poe Retellings and Readalikes

Edgar Allen Poe fans will want to check out these retellings of his works, as well as some Gothic horror readalikes to Poe's stories.

10 Of The Best Fantasy Series to Read via Audiobook

I promise the best fantasy series audiobooks versions will make sweeping your floor or vacuuming out your car a far more enjoyable task.