Riot Headline COVID-19 Updates from the Bookish World

Lyndsie Manusos

Lyndsie Manusos’s fiction has appeared in PANK, SmokeLong Quarterly, and other publications. She holds an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and has worked in web production and content management. When she’s not nesting among her books and rough drafts, she’s chasing the baby while the dog watches in confused amusement. She lives with her family in a suburb of Indianapolis.

16 Funny Short Stories and Books to Brighten Your Mood

In the midst of researching news reports and washing your hands, here is a list of 16 funny short stories and books to brighten your mood.

15 Bookish Gifts for the Sarah J. Maas Fandom

With all the news and excitement surrounding the author, it's the perfect time to indulge in some clothing, pins, and more Sarah J. Maas gifts.

19 Door-Opening Quotes From THE TEN THOUSAND DOORS OF JANUARY by Alix E. Harrow

Some of the most magical quotes from THE TEN THOUSAND DOORS OF JANUARY.

What Is Speculative Fiction?

What is speculative fiction? You may get a different answer depending on who you ask. Read on to explore this concept, along with examples.

15 Science Fiction Short Stories To Take You Out of this World

We're in a new golden age of science fiction, especially science fiction short stories. These are some of the best stories you can read right now online.

Why Some of the Best Fiction of 2019 is 1,000 Words or Less

A short fiction fan takes a look at some of the best recent examples of flash fiction available online and through literary magazines.

Monstrous Affections: Exploring Romance and Monsters

Taking a look at a few great reads that explore the concept of monsters who love, and the complicated narratives of romance and monsters.

17 Boo-Tastic Halloween Books for Toddlers to Enjoy

I hope to spark a love for Halloween in my daughter, and what better way to do that than with some delightfully spooky Halloween books for toddlers!

15 Shifter Romance Books to Read Under the Full Moon

Maybe you prefer a little purring or growling with your romance. Look no further, my lovely readers, because this is a list of shifter romance books.

20 of the Best Snake Books for Every Reader

Here is a list of children's, YA, and adult snake books that explore, are inspired by, or feature snakes. Get reading now.

Library of Congress Seeks Help Transcribing Suffragist Documents

Fast typists, adept transcribers, and fearsome keyboard clackers, lend me your ears! The Library of Congress needs your help. The ...

What Are Chapbooks? and Why You Should Read Them

Chapbooks are tiny works collecting poetry, stories, and more. Learn more about the art and literary form, and discover some recommended chapbooks.

Literary Tourism: Indianapolis (and Surrounding Suburbs), Indiana

I recently moved to an Indianapolis suburb and am still learning all the ins and outs of my new home. ...

Read-Alikes to Stephanie Garber’s Caraval Trilogy

Another epic fantasy series draws to a close this month. Here's what to read next.

3 Short Stories That Would Make Great Graphic Novels

We've done it with Shirley Jackson's "The Lottery," now let's get more! Here are three short stories that should be graphic novels.