Over 50 Of Your Favorite Fantasy Series For Kids

This giveaway asking for your favorite fantasy series for kids is sponsored by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers, bringing you The Gift of Dark Hollow by Kieran Larwood.

Cover of THE GIFT OF DARK HOLLOW by Kieran LarwoodMiddle Earth for middle graders! Action, adventure, and magic swirl in the second thrilling adventure in the series perfect for fans of Redwall and Watership Down. The stirring adventure of the young rabbit Podkin One-Ear continues as he battles to save his land from the evil Gorm tribe.


If your resident reluctant reader latches onto a fantasy series, it can mean a welcome break from the trial-and-error book recommendations. If your insatiable reader discovers a new fantasy series, they’ll be occupied for days, if not weeks. And if you’re the person responsible for reading out loud in the classroom or at a bedside, a richly written fantasy novel can make story time something that all concerned parties look forward to with giddy anticipation. A great fantasy series really is a gift. And in that spirit, we recently ran a giveaway where sharing your favorite fantasy series for kids was part of the entry process! Now we’re back with the following compilation of suggestions from your fellow Riot readers:

Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness Quartet

C. S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia

Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quintet

Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart Trilogy

John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice series

Peter Lerangis’s Seven Wonders series

Laurence Yep’s Dragon Tetralogy

Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Perf series

Mary Pope Osborne’s Magic Tree House series

Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black’s Spiderwick Chronicles

Soman Chainani’s School for Good and Evil series

Raymond Arroyo’s Will Wilder series

Diana Wynne Jones’s Worlds of Chrestomanci series

J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series

Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson & the Olympians series

Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina series

Matthew Jobin’s Nethergrim series

K. L. Armstrong and M. A. Marr’s Blackwell Pages series

Jenny Nimmo’s Children of the Red King series

Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series

Jennifer A. Nielsen’s Ascendence Trilogy

Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle

Jessica Day George’s Dragon Slippers series

Anne Usru’s Cronus Chronicles Trilogy

Ursula K. Le Guin’s Catwings series

J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series

Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series

Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl series

Shannon Messenger’s Keeper of the Lost Cities series

Jonathan W. Stokes’s Addison Cooke series

Lloyd Alexander’s Westmark Trilogy

Brian Jacques’s Redwall series

William Nicholson’s Wind of Fire Trilogy

M. A. Larson’s Pennyroyal Academy series

James A. Owen’s Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica

Adam Gidwitz’s Unicorn Rescue Society series

George MacDonald’s Princess Irene and Curdie Duology

L. Frank Baum’s Oz series

Garth Nix’s Old Kingdom trilogy

Jennifer Bell’s Uncommoners series

T. A. Barron’s Merlin saga

Monica Furlong’s Doran series

Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass

Jonathan Stroud’s Bartimaeus Trilogy

Suzanne Collins’s Underland Chronicles

Barry Wolverton’s Vanishing Island series

Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle Trilogy

Tove Jansson’s Moon series

Philip Reeve’s Traction Cities series

Michael Scott’s Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series

Morgan Rhodes’s Falling Kingdoms series

Sign up to receive Check Your Shelf, the Librarian's One-Stop Shop For News, Book Lists, And More.
Come bag some bookish perks with Book Riot Insiders!
VIEW COMMENTS