Best Mysteries and Thrillers of 2017: Critical Linking, November 16

Sponsored by Creatures of Will and Temper by Molly Tanzer


“Fans who still mourn the passing of Agatha Christie, the model who’s evoked here in dozens of telltale details, will welcome this wildly inventive homage/update/commentary as the most fiendishly clever puzzle—make that two puzzles—of the year.”

Kirkus’ round-up of the best mysteries and thrillers of the year is here!


Imagine Entertainment has picked up feature film rights to Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn.

The love story, told in the vein of A Thousand and One Nights, centers on the 18-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, Khalid, who takes a new bride every dawn only to execute her by sunrise. But when 16-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid, with a plan to stay alive and exact revenge for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls, she finds herself falling in love with him and that not all is as it seems with the young king. Shahrzad sets out to find the truth and stop the cycle of killing.

Congrats to Renee!


By now, we’ve learned the power of Selena is unmatched. Two decades after her death, La Reina de Tejano continues making history. Earlier this month, the unveiling of her star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame drew thousands, breaking the 1998 attendance record set by Vicente Fernández. Now, Patty Rodriguez and Ariana Stein’s new board book, La Vida de Selena, is selling out on Amazon. Having just dethroned JK Rowling’s Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal, the book currently sits at No. 1 on Amazon’s Spanish-language book list.

Nice!

Sign up for "Today in Books" and stay up to date with the most interesting news in the world of books and reading!
We're giving away a $500 gift card to the bookstore of your choice. Click here to enter, or click the image below:
VIEW COMMENTS