Kurt Vonnegut’s Novels: A Gallery of First Editions

This post is part of our Kurt Vonnegut Reading Day: a celebration of one of our favorite authors on the occasion of the publication of his letters. Check out the full line-up here.

Here, in chronological order, are the first American editions for Kurt Vonnegut’s novels. Mid-to-late 20th Century literary fiction/sci-fi at its very best.

player piano

Published 1954


Published 1959

mother night

Published 1961


Published 1963

god bless you mrs. rosewater

Published 1965

slaughterhouse 5

Published 1969

breakfast of champions

Published 1973


Publishes 1976

dead-eye dick

Published 1982


Published 1985


Published 1987

hocus pocus

Published 1990


Published 1997






Sign up to Swords & Spaceships to receive news and recommendations from the world of science fiction and fantasy
Book Riot is sponsored by Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners by Gretchen Anthony. Full of humor, emotion and surprises at every turn, Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners brings to life a remarkable  story of a family falling to pieces—and the unexpected way they put it all back together. Go here to learn more, or just click the image below: