10 Spooky Books If You Love Halloween & Also Sleeping With The Lights Off: Critical Linking, October 22

Sponsored by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt


For the scary book aficionado, this is the best time of year to stock up on chilling novels and creepy short story collections. But what if you want to participate in this Halloween reading season, yet the thought of a horror book makes you want to hide under the covers? What if you’re a horror wimp — a Halloweenie, if you will?

If you are the kind of person who keeps their Stephen King novels in the freezer, but wants to participate in literary Halloween season without leaving the lights on all month, have no fear! Here are ten spooky books that won’t keep you up at night.

I—a chicken emoji + poop emoji—very much appreciate this list.


“It’s a book I want parents to share with their children – a read-aloud bedtime story,” Haig says. “Bedtime is a time when children’s heads are full of fears, and those don’t go away by just ignoring them. They go away by talking about them, externalising them and dealing with them.”

Haig is not the only children’s author who wants to help young readers learn to cope with their mental health problems. With one in four children who are referred to child and adolescent mental health services (CAMHS) turned away, a wave of illustrated fiction is attempting to help children as young as three manage their feelings of worry and stress.

The more we talk openly about mental health the better. (And that top illustration is gorgeous.)


When the Red Pillers—online communities of far-right, anti-feminist men—need to back up their misogynist and racist claims, they look to Ovid, Euripides, or the Stoics. On Reddit and other troll-favorite websites, so called pick-up artists use Ovid’s Ars Amatoria as a dating manual to justify ignoring women’s boundaries and incels quote Epictetus. They appropriate classic texts to lend weight to their arguments and ignore glaring contradictions to fabricate a cohesive transhistorical “white” identity and claim the universality of their bigoted views.

Dr. Donna Zuckerberg’s book Not All Dead White Men: Classics and Misogyny in the Digital Age traces the application—and misapplication—of classical authors and texts in online communities that see feminism as a threat. I spoke with Zuckerberg about the contested place of the classics in academia, Socrates as the OG troll, and the power of rage.

A really interesting discussion.


We're giving away a $250 gift card to Barnes and Noble! Enter here: