Staff & Contributors


Jeff O’Neal, Executive Editor & Co-founder, reads books and writes about them. Before he did this, he taught writing and literature at a large East Coast university. He has the great good fortune of living with his favorite person in the world and their two bright, beautiful children in Portland, OR.

His tweets can be found @thejeffoneal.


photo by PJ Sykes

Rebecca Joines Schinsky, Executive Director, Product & eCommerce, loves books, bourbon, and the kinds of pop culture you’re supposed to call guilty pleasures. When she’s not at Book Riot, she can be found traveling, cooking, doing yoga, and wrangling the world’s most adorable basset hound in her adopted hometown of Richmond, VA.

Her tweets can be found @RebeccaSchinsky.


amanda_headshot cropped

Amanda Nelson, Managing Editor, digests books and fried green tomatoes with equal enthusiasm. When she’s not inhaling a book, she’s off having a Narnia-sized adventure somewhere in Richmond, Virginia, with her twin boys (and maybe writing about it in her parenting Tiny Letter, Madame Ovary). Her dream is to be Jean-Luc Picard and/or Doctor-Donna when she grows up, but Ron Swanson’ll do in a pinch.

Her tweets can be found @ImAmandaNelson.


kelly jensen

Kelly Jensen, Associate Editor, blogs at STACKED. She’s a feminist killjoy, pernicious influence, and former librarian who loves black licorice, debating genre, and reading dark YA fiction.  It Happens, her book about contemporary realistic YA fiction, is available from VOYA Press.

Her tweets can be found @veronikellymars.


rachel smalter hallRachel Smalter Hall, Associate Editor, may be a professional Book Rioter, but she still hangs out in the public librarian clubhouse. Two of her top three loves include audiobooks and knitting, and her favorite song is Cold Hearted Snake as performed by Alyssa Edwards and Coco Montrese on season 5 of RuPaul’s Drag Race. She co-runs a boozy book club in Lawrence, Kansas, in her spare time.

Her tweets can be found @rach_smalls.

swapna-krishna-headshotSwapna Krishna, Comics Editor, is a lifelong reader and pours herself wholeheartedly into the intricacies of geek culture. When she’s not reading, you can find her drinking craft beer, traveling, discussing all things space and NASA in her Tinyletter Give Me Space, or just hanging out with her husband in the burbs of Philly, where she calls home.

Her tweets can be found @skrishna.


See all Riot New Media staff.

Contributing Editors

Jamie Canaves
Jessica Pryde
Josh Corman
Karina Glaser
Kim Ukura
Liberty Hardy
María Cristina García Lynch
Rincey Abraham
S. Zainab Williams
Wallace Yovetich


Aisling Twomey
A.J. O’Connell
Alex Acks
Alex Laffer
Alice Burton
Alison Doherty
Alison Peters
Allen Thomas
Amanda Diehl
Amanda Kay Oaks
Amy Diegelman
Andi Miller
Andy Browers
Angel Cruz
Annika Barranti Klein
Aram Mrjoian
Ardo Omer
Ashley Bowen-Murphy
Ashley Holstrom
Ashlie Swicker
Becky Stone
Beth O’Brien
Brandi Bailey
Brenna Clarke Gray
Carolina Ciucci
Casey Stepaniuk
Cassandra Neace
Catherine Lu
Cecilia Lyra
Charles Hoffman
Charlotte Reber
Chelsea Hensley
Christina Vortia
Christine Hoxmeier
Christy Childers
Cindy Butor
Claire Handscombe
Constance Augusta Zaber
Cristin Stickles
Dana Rosette Pangan
Dana Staves
Danika Ellis
Deepali Agarwal
Derek Attig
Deya Bhattacharya
E.H. Kern
Elizabeth Allen
Emily Wenstrom
Emma Allmann
Emma Nichols
Eric Smith
Erin Burba
Gene Luen Yang
Gina Nicoll
Hannah Engler
Hannah Oliver Depp
Hattie Kennedy
Ilana Masad
Ines Bellina
Jaime Herndon
Jake Shapiro
James Wallace Harris
Jan Rosenberg
Jen Sherman
Jesse Doogan
Jessi Lewis
Jessica Plummer
Jessica Woodbury
Jessica Yang
Johann Thorsson
Jon Erik Christianson
Josh Hanagarne
Julia Pistell
Justina Ireland
Kareem Shaheen
Kate Scott
Kathleen Keenan
Katie MacBride
Katie McGuire
Katie McLain
Katie Schenkel
Kay Taylor Rea
Kelly Anderson
Keri Crist-Wagner
Kristen McQuinn
Kristen Twardowski
Kristina Pino
Kristy Pasquariello
Laura Marie 
Leah Ly
Leah Rachel von Essen
Leila Roy
Lucas Maxwell
Maddie Rodriguez
M. Lynx Qualey
Mal Soto
Marcy Cook
Margaret Kingsbury
Margret Aldrich
Martin Cahill
Matt Grant
Maureen Stinger
Maya Smart
Megan Cavitt
Melody Schreiber
Michelle Anne Schingler
Molly Wetta
Monica Friedman
Natalya Muncuff
Nicole Brinkley
Nicole Froio
Nicole Mulhausen
Nikki DeMarco
Nikki VanRy
Patricia Elzie
Patricia Thang
Paul Montgomery
Peter Damien
Preeti Chhibber
Priya Sridhar
Rabeea Saleem
Rachel Cordasco
Rachel Manwill
Rachel Weber
Rah Carter
Raych Krueger
Rebecca Hussey
Rita Meade
Romeo Rosales
S.W. Sondheimer
Sadie Trombetta
Sarah Davis
Sarah McCarry
Sarah Nicolas
Sean-Patrick Burke
Shara Lee
Sharanya Sharma
Sonja Palmer
Sophia Khan
Steph Auteri
Susie Rodarme
Tara Cheesman
Tara Olivero
Tasha Brandstatter
Teresa Preston
Tiffani Willis
Tirzah Price
Tracy Shapley
Trisha Brown
Troy L. Wiggins
Vanessa Willoughby
Vee Naidoo
Vernieda Vergara
Yash Kesanakurthy
Zoe Dickinson

To Top