17 New Books for Fans of Dystopias: Critical Linking, April 25, 2017

Level up your reading life with Book Riot Insiders! We’ve got exclusive content and goodness for subscribers, including a new releases calendar, an Insiders-only forum, and more. Join us!


If you still see the worth in dystopian stories ― for social change or for entertainment value ― there are, luckily, loads to choose from. Climate-fiction, or cli-fi, has emerged as a sub-subgenre of dystopian fiction, with authors like Lidia Yuknavitch and Jeff VanderMeer ― both of whom have upcoming film adaptations ― leading the charge. Other titles explore cryonics, religion, gender and more.

17 new-ish dystopias! Or you could just watch Fox News, I guess.


“There are pro-Trump people, there are ‘Never Trump’ people, full-throated Trump supporters and wary Trump supporters” among conservatives, said Eric Nelson, editorial director of Broadside Books, a conservative imprint of HarperCollins. “The left has gotten more united.”

That also means “there’s definitely not much of a market for anti-Hillary books,” said Marji Ross, president and publisher of Regnery Publishing, a leading publisher of conservative books.

Politics and civics are selling.


Maybe, after all this time, I’ve finally grown to view my “failure” at not being in a book club as something that I’m not necessarily proud of, but I’m not ashamed of either. I guess you could say I’ve come to terms with it. And so, a few weeks ago, when I was at a friend’s birthday dinner, and she suggested to me and a couple of the other women there that we start a book club, I considered it for a moment. In that moment, I had a sudden, compressed vision of how it would go: initial enthusiasm that, after a couple of mediocre books and a meeting or two where no one showed up (or meetings where I decided I’d rather lie outside on my hammock than drive to a meeting on the Eastside), would soon give way to guilt, and eventually apathy. I smiled — I felt rueful, but also like I finally, finally really knew myself — said, “You know what? I think I’m good….”

Book clubs aren’t for everyone.

Up to 80% off books you actually want to read.
VIEW COMMENTS