95 Authors to Follow on Twitter

It’s been 6 years since I joined Twitter upon hearing that J.K. Rowling was on the social media platform and that she (!) tweeted (!) things (!) for us commoners! It was all very exciting (I know, I know, but I was 17, can you blame me?).

In these last 6 years, however, I have come to appreciate authors on twitter for much more what 17yo-me wanted. Yes, you sometimes chance upon Neil Gaiman doing a live Q&A, Margaret Atwood answering fans’ questions, and Roxane Gay doing giveaways of her books, but I am thankful, more than anything, for learning something enlightening and significant every day from these authors: about the publishing industry and what it means to be a writer, and about the politics of literature. And in this day and age, when most authors on Twitter are more active than usual in an attempt to reach out and do some literary activism, there’s a lot more smarts to be absorbed.

Here are 95 authors to follow for a great mix of wit, books, and insights into writing in your Twitter feed:

1. Adam Silvera @AdamSilvera

2. Alexander Chee @AlexanderChee

3. Alisha Rai @AlishaRai

4. Alyssa Harad  @alyssaharad

5. Amanda Lovelace @ladybookmad

6. Amy Spalding @theames

7. Amy Tan @amytan

8. Ann Aguirre @MsAnnAguirre

9. Anna Kendrick @AnnaKendrick47

10. Aziz Ansari @azizansari

11. Barack Obama @BarackObama

12. Benjamin Alire Saenz @BenjaminAlireSa

13. Catherynne Valente @catvalente

14. Celeste Ng @pronounced_ing

15. Chantel Acevedo @chantelacevedo

16. Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni  @cdivakaruni

17. Chuck Wendig @ChuckWendig

18. CJ Redwine @cjredwine

19. Colin Dickey @ColinDickey

20. Corinne Duyvis @corrineduyvis

21. Courtney Milan @courtneymilan

22. Courtney Summers @courtney_s

23. Dana Simpson @MizDanaClaire

24. Daniel Jose Older @djolder

25. Eric Smith @ericsmithrocks

26. Gene Luen Yang @geneluenyang

27. Glennon Doyle Melton @momastery

28. Gwenda Bond @Gwenda

29. Hari Kunzru @harikunzru

30. Heidi Heilig @heidiheilig

31. Hillary Clinton @hillaryclinton

32. Jason Reynolds @JasonReynolds83

33. Jeff Zentner @jeffzentner

34. Jes Baker @militant_baker

35. Jessica Valenti @JessicaValenti

36. J.K. Rowling @jk_rowling

37. Joe Hill @joe_hill

38. John Lewis @repjohnlewis

39. Justina Ireland @justinaireland

40. Karan Mahajan @kmahaj

41. Karina Glaser @KarinaYanGlaser

42. Karolina Waclawiak @believekarolina

43. Kelly Jensen @veronikellymars

44. Kelly Sue DeConnick @kellysue

45. Kristine Wyllys @KristineWyllys

46. Lamar Giles @LRGiles

47. Leigh Bardugo @LBardugo

48. Lin-Manuel Miranda @Lin_Manuel

49. Lyndsay Faye @LyndsayFaye

50. Malinda Lo @MalindaLo

51. Mara Wilson @MaraWilson

52. Marissa Meyer @marissa_meyer

53. Margaret Atwood @MargaretAtwood

54. Maureen Johnson @maureenjohnson

55. Meg Cabot @megcabot

56. Megan Abbott @meganeabbott

57. Mindy Kaling @mindykaling

58. Mona Eltahawy @monaeltahawy

59. Neil Gaiman @neilhimself

60. Nicola Yoon @NicolaYoon

61. Nilanjana Roy @nilanjanaroy

62. NK Jemisin @nkjemisin

63. Nova Ren Suma @novaren

64. Peggy Orenstein @peggoprenstein

65. Phoebe Robinson @dopequeenpheebs

66. Rabih Alameddine @rabihalameddine

67. Rachel Held Evans @rachelheldevans

68. Rainbow Rowell @rainbowrowell

69. Roshani Chokshi @NotRashKnee

70. Roxane Gay @rgay

71. Rumaam Alam @Rumaan

72. Sabaa Tahir @SabaaTahir

73. Sady Doyle @sadydoyle

74. Saeed Jones @theferocity

75. Saladin Ahmed @saladinahmed

76. Salman Rushdie @SalmanRushdie

77. Sandhya Memon @smenonbooks

78. Sarah Andersen @SarahCAndersen

79. Sarah Maclean @sarahmaclean

80. Sasha Devlin @sashadevlin

81. Shonda Rhimes @shondarhimes

82. Shveta Thakrar @shvetathakrar

83. Sona Charaipotra @sona_c

84. Steph Cha @stephycha

85. Stephen King @StephenKing

86. Ta-Nehisi Coates @TaNehisiCoates

87. Tahereh Mafi @TahereMafi

88. Tananarive Due @TananariveDue

89. Tess Fowler @TessFowler

90. Tim Federle @TimFederle

91. Tressie Mc @tressiemcphd

92. Veronica Roth @VeronicaRoth

93. Victoria Dahl @VictoriaDahl

94. Victoria Schwab @veschwab

95. Zoraida Cordova @zlikeinzorro

Happy following, and let us know which authors you love to have on your Twitter feed!

Subscribe to Book Riot Insiders for TBR-busting exclusives that hurt so good. Come check it out here, or click the image below!
VIEW COMMENTS