What’s Your Favorite Modern Book Inspired By Myth?

This giveaway is sponsored by The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan.

the gracekeepersFor readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.
Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

____________________

While it might not be true that there’s nothing new under the sun, modern literature does like to refer back to or borrow from various cultural myths to make a modern point. Whether it’s a modern retelling of Greek mythology with teenagers in place of demigods or short stories where mythological mermaids lure fishermen to their demise, myths inform many of the books we enjoy in 2015. So tell us: what’s your favorite modern book inspired by myth?

Let us know, and 25 random entrants will be drawn and will win a copy of The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan! Just complete the form below to enter. Entries are limited to the United States and will be accepted until 11:59pm, Monday, June 1st. Winners will be randomly selected.

This giveaway is now closed. 

Want a COMPLETELY CAPTIVATING audiobook? We recommend Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan. Get it or one of 250,000 other audiobooks free when you begin an Audible 30-day trial. audible_scifi_570x147
VIEW COMMENTS